Kat Stein

Location (Philly Neighbourhood): South Philly

Hometown: Vancouver, WA 


Current Project(s)/Band(s): Sonnder, Keely Sibilia

Instrument(s) you play: keys, bass, some guitar 

What else do you do in the Philly music scene? I have recently started booking shows here and there, right now I'm working on booking a few benefit shows in the next couple months with my friend Gianna Lozzi. I have also recently done some session work for friends, and I teach a children's music class up in Wayne, PA. 


Location of Photo(s): My roof/bedroom/backyard 

What do those location(s) mean to you?: I am literally never home so the time that I do get to spend there is refreshing and inspiring. In the Summer, I spend time on my roof almost every single day and write or meditate. 


Favourite Place in Philly: Clark Park/that area of West Philly. It reminds me so much of where I grew up. 

Favourite Watering Hole/Coffee Spot: The Bottle Shop is my fav place for beer, Cantina for margaritas, Black and Brew for coffee. As you can see I am very adventurous and leave my neighborhood often ;)

Favourite Restaurant: either Estia or Vedge

Favourite Pizza Spot: Anywhere. Give me pizza and I will consume. 

Favourite Philly Record Shop: Probably Siren Records in Doylestown. They've been very supportive of Sonnder the past few years. 

Favourite Philly Venue: Definitely either Union Transfer or Johnny Brenda's.


Recording Space: I think each studio has it's own unique qualities about it, it's hard to pick a favorite. 

Favourite Philly Band(s): Good Old War, Former Belle, The Captain The Pilot The Driver, Circa Survive 

Best show you’ve seen in Philly: Copeland at the TLA with Eisley last year. 


What are you listening to now: New John Mayer has been on repeat. And Bon Iver as always. 


If you could sum up in one sentence what Philly / Philly music scene means to you, what would it be? The Philly music scene helped me make my dreams a reality. 


Life motto: Just keep swimming! (I don't know if I have one but that's what popped into my head. Pretty fitting tbh) 

Random Fun Fact: I was in ballet companies all throughout high school and considered (for maybe 2 weeks) pursuing dance instead of music. 

Childhood Dream Job: Being a performer

Pets: my favorite being in the entire world, Karli Rae Rogers, is a mini schnauzer and she lives back home with my family, along with kitties Josie and Sammi. Also my roommate Jess has a cat named Cat which gets pretty confusing. 


Future plans: This year we're going to hit the studio and hopefully hit the road. There will be a lot of hitting.